Happy Canada Day

Also known as the holiday that gives me an excuse to post the three greatest contributions to Hip Hop to come out of Canada. All three come from the eternally under-appreciated Saukrates.

But I’ve heard other Canadian rappers exist (shout out to my man Virtue), so I can’t ignore their work now can I? Can’t say I ever listened to much K-Os (beyond the song below), but he’s Canadian and the beat on “Superstarr, pt. Zero” is too fly to ignore, so rock with that if you please.

And then there’s Swollen Members. I could never really get into them as rappers, but their beat selection is generally top notch (I suppose one of these days it’ll be worth writing about the reverse Nas Syndrome, wherein bad to mediocre rappers choose spectacular beats and record highly enjoyable albums–perhaps the Rick Ross touch?). The beat on “Lady Venom” is no exception. Serious thump.

Sorry Aubrey, no Drakes allowed.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

