Bukowski say:

batting order

Hemingway’s been in a slump,
can’t hit a curve ball
anymore,
I’m dropping him to the 6th
spot.
I’m putting Celine in
cleanup,
he’s inconsistent but when
he’s good there’s no
better.
Hamsun I’m going to use
in the number 3 spot,
he hits them hard and
often.
lead-off, well, lead-off
I’ll use e.e. cummings,
he’s fast, can beat out a
bunt.
I’ll use Pound in the
number two spot, Ezra
is one of the better
hit and run men
in the business.
the 5 spot I’ll give to
Dostoevsky,
he’s a heavy hitter, great with
men on base.
the 7 spot I’ll give to Robinson
Jeffers, can you think of anybody
better?
he can drill a rock
350 feet.
the 8 spot, I’ve got my
catcher, J.D. Salinger,
if we can find
him.
and pitching?
how about Nietzsche?
he’s strong!
been breaking all the tables
in the training
room.

coaches?

I’ll take Kierkegaard and
Sartre,
gloomy fellows,
but none know this
game better.

when we field this team,
it’s all over,
gentlemen.

we’re going to kick some
ass, most likely
yours.

Bukowski is the best.

This entry was posted in Bukowski say:, Literature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

