Yeah but this was actually the best film…

We can argue about it–I have plenty to say about Inglourious Basterds. Quentin Tarantino is going to win one of those honorary Oscars before he dies. Maybe. Oh well. At least James Cameron didn’t win anything. But hey, he can probably buy all the gold in the world and make himself a giant 4D Oscar statuette. Holla at the next dimension.

Until next year, Oscars. Au revoir, Shosanna!

Also, some thoughts (with a few minor edits, to balance out my poor editing when originally posted) I had on Inglourious Basterds back in September when I saw it:

“Though it’s been nearly a month since Inglourious Basterds came out, I only got around to seeing it this weekend. I was not disappointed. While people I trust dearly on matters of film have felt conflicted about [Inglourious Basterds], I loved it almost unconditionally. Politics and ultra-mega-fantastical revisionist history aside, this is a [meticulously and marvelously] crafted film. From the opening scene (which is about as taut and masterful as an opening gets) to the final Nazi scalp, IB never fails to entertain. Though the accompanying music is the weakest in Tarantino’s filmography, his technique, dialogue, and story telling are on full display here. It’s irreverent and potentially offensive (but if you’re going to be offended by this, you’re missing the point). It reminds me why we go to the movies: film gives us something reality cannot. A world we want. Or at least one that I want.”

(Originally posted at CBD)

EDIT: One final thought I just read at /Film that I agree with wholeheartedly:

“I’m sure that in 20 years we’ll look back and wonder how Avatar didn’t win either Best Picture or Best Director. The Hurt Locker will be this generation’s How Green Was My Valley. And for those who don’t get the How Green Was My Valley reference, go look up which Oscars Citizen Kane won. I’m not saying Avatar is an incredible film, but in 50 years it will be the film we remember, definitely over Hurt Locker.” – Peter Sciretta, /Film

Except I would propose Avatar as this generation’s Wizard of Oz. Either way, it’s a monumental moment in film history if not a particularly spectacular film. It’s the best video game you never got to actually play (because apparently the video game they released wasn’t that good).

This entry was posted in Film and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

