You wanna know how to rhyme you better learn how to add…

Inspired by my boy Rajib, this is the best Mos Def song. If you disagree, you probably liked The Ecstatic. Just playing, Ecstatic had its moments. But “Mathematics,” Black on Both Sides, this shit is just classic. I don’t like calling things classic, because it just assumes that tone of ivory-tower-holier-than-thou-tastemaking-gatekeeper (or, alternatively, that of the overly hyperbolic knee-jerk Hip Hop fan) that I tend to hate. Black on Both Sides and “Mathematics” in particular just happen to have heavily impacted my life, my music, and taste. So yeah, shit’s classic–allow me that, if you will.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You wanna know how to rhyme you better learn how to add…

  1. Donlause says:

    Young bloods can’t spell but they can rock you in playstation.

  2. BrynnPlum says:

    I thought your life up to this point had been an audition for the role of “ivory-tower-holier-than-thou-tastemaking-gatekeeper.” Color me wrong, Jonjamin.

Leave a Reply

