Stanklove

Listen, we can debate who the truth is like Jews and Christians (© Jay Elechanukkah), but most heads can agree that Outkast have always been ahead of their time–or at very least, at the top of their class. I’ve been revisiting Stankonia recently and I’ll be damned if it isn’t the best album of the aughts. It may not be the best in Kast’s catalogue (though I’m not sure there is a single best, as each album stands on its own incredible merits), but Stankonia is a consistently thrilling and entertaining listen. This statement may sound blasphemous to some diehard fans, but I think Stankonia is the album where it all came together for the duo, where street leanings were tempered by just the right measure of experimentation to create songs that often threatened to veer into stranger tides–later mined on Speakerboxxx/The Love Below–but always seemed to come back home and satisfy. It provides the thrill of strange, unknown sounds with the easy digestibility of the familiar. It is, in this way, the rarest of rare pop albums.

I can also thank Stankonia for introducing me to Killer Mike on “Snappin and Trappin,” which is one of my favorite tracks on the album to this day. And “Toilet Tisha” is just the jam.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stanklove

  1. Benji says:

    Man, I used to think “Toilet Tisha” was an extended poop joke, which really struck me as being in bad taste considering how mournful it is. Little did I know.

Leave a Reply

