Soliloquies of Chaos: Brown Sugar by Yelawolf

Soliloquies of Chaos takes a look at some of my favorite verses and my reasons for loving them. Pretty simple. Enjoy!

Photo by Maurice Garland

A special double dose of Soliloquies of Chaos this week. Had to. One didn’t seem like enough. So here’s another Yelawolf jam. “Brown Sugar,” off the Stereo mixtape, fully displays Yelawolf’s knack for constructing a gripping narrative without sacrificing his considerable rhyming and flowing abilities. “Brown Sugar,” in particular, speaks to Yela’s cinematic tendency, as the song essentially grafts a 3 act structure onto its 3 verses, detailing the rise, development, and uncertain future of a seemingly ill-fated relationship between a young Yelawolf and a beautiful junkie. Yela’s ability to mix narrative details with abstraction and editorializing is reminiscent of Andre 3000’s performances on songs like “Art of Storytelling pt. 1” and “Humble Mumble” (obviously this stuff is essentially canon at this point, but it’s nice to see Yela take a very successful and underused style–perhaps because really only Andre pulls it off properly–and infuses it with his own vibrant detail and intrigue).

Transcribed the lyrics all by my lonesome because I love all y’all (just the first verse though, just to give you a taste). Check “Brown Sugar” and the lyrics after the break.

Left my wallet in El Segundo
Hold up wait a minute was that Colorado
Cuz she was ice cold chocolate with a powdered nose
Kinda like an eskimo pie in the white snow
I was only 18 though I had a thing
For a woman who enjoyed a good time with a dime
Never thought I’d run into a dime with the mind
Of a fiend and the shape of an artist’s line
Fine like peach fuzz she was
Glass like frail I could tell
Ain’t that a shame proclaimed her mommy
Went from fresh meat to sliced salami
For a piece of bread she would spread
And mayonnaise a lot of people in that line
But she was already stuck in my heart
She kissed my head and blew my mind

Photo courtesy of Maurice Garland, the source of ATL dopeness, as previously stated.

This entry was posted in Music, Soliloquies of Chaos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Soliloquies of Chaos: Brown Sugar by Yelawolf

  1. Hero says:

    great song. great artist.

  2. BeeBoB says:

    Need the rest of this lyricsssssssss please, can’t find them anywhere !!

  3. If you want me baby i’ll take care of you, you probably do me wrong now yeah sad but true
    you got your problems baby i got my problems too i wont judge i dont care i wont tell
    what have they done to you.

    i Left my wallet in El Segundo
    Hold up wait a minute was that Colorado
    Cuz she was ice cold chocolate with a powdered nose
    Kinda like an eskimo pie in the white snow
    I was only 18 though I had a thing
    For a woman who enjoyed a good time with a dime
    Never thought I’d run into a dime with the mind
    Of a fiend and the shape of an artist’s line
    Fine like peach fuzz she was
    Glass like frail I could tell
    Ain’t that a shame proclaimed her mommy
    Went from fresh meat to sliced salami
    For a piece of bread she would spread
    And mayonnaise a lot of people in that line
    But she was already stuck in my heart
    She kissed my head and blew my mind

    if you want me baby i’ll take care of you, you probably do me wrong now yeah sad but true
    you got your probelems baby i got my problems too i wont judge i dont care i wont tell
    what have they done to you.

    a summer breeze in the crease of the window whistle in the one bedroom we share
    on the beach front ghetto of dogtown in front of box fans on high we stared
    and to the wave breaks on sand and imagine if a duffle bag of dope would just wash up clean
    and we would crawl in like boston jorge cuz boston jorge could afford nice things
    she lay wet from the sex wet rope and on the ten tray my seech dead row
    i sparked it
    baby if you had a magic carpet where would you proceed to go?
    she said im writing a book about me and its called runaway from fear but since i hit the chapter about cocaine i been stuck on this page… here

    if you want me baby i’ll take care of you, you probably do me wrong now yeah sad but true
    you got your problems baby i got my problems too i wont judge i dont care i wont tell
    what have they done to you.

    you aint gotta die a widow
    you might be heart broke but not heratless
    you made love to many people with bose and car and new clothes cuz you were the hot target
    but only fools line the bulls eye
    you gave me a loose not to climb and pull by and im illusioning youst why i see the good in you i feel i can prove why
    we can sit inside of this car lay white lines on the dashboard top from a peak of a hollywood hill and thats to the sound of vintage rock and when the soul radio stops we can write a song about anything you want about
    what you want to write about?
    fill that page and we can write a page about
    yesterday.

    if you want me baby i’ll take care of you, you probably do me wrong now yeah sad but true
    you got your problems baby i got my problems too i wont judge i dont care i wont tell
    what have they done to you.

Leave a Reply

