Soliloquies of Chaos: Gone by Yelawolf

Soliloquies of Chaos takes a look at some of my favorite verses and my reasons for loving them. Pretty simple. Enjoy!

Wolf Week continues. As far as drinking anthems go, “Gone” is not only one of the least obnoxious, it’s one of the best. Riding a classic-rock tinged Jim Jonsin beat, Yelawolf flexes his dextrous delivery to paint a picture of a night out in his home of Alabama. Each verse on the song is pretty spectacular, but I’m focusing on the first because I think it best displays Yela’s flair for visuals, his love of language for the sake of its sound, and his impressive flow.

Check “Gone” and the lyrics after the break.

No not you my lady
I’m illegally parked I know, pardon my french and my mercedes
But I have no excuse for this flea market shirt I’m wearing
My Motley Crüe is beastie and we enjoy the staring
I’m unemployed and daring
How dare I be so cool when it’s so hot in Alabama
Sometimes we get snow too
And I’m as rare as a white Christmas in Miami really
The temperatures drop don’t stop beach the ocean’s gettin chilly

This entry was posted in Music, Soliloquies of Chaos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

