Zach Genin

2123376594_c3950ed2f6_o
Zack Genin is a wonderful artist based in Baltimore whose primary focus if photography and sculpture.

When I think of Zack Genin’s photography, I am especially recalled to the predicament of lived life versus represented life. The experiential that informs the distant nostalgia. The nostalgia that longs for an intimacy beyond the chores, shortcomings and drudgery of everyday tasks. I feel his subjects relate to my exploration of romantic representations of nature. The photos engender a comfort within me that is located in the place that is closer to the edge of transcendence. Quiet magnificence.

I appreciate his sensitive and gentle eye. His tenderness is an ambiguity that I move towards in an effort to soften my own didactically harsh hand when I am making work.

Check out his Website and Flickr for more insight
  

2512054876_10be44cd38_o

snowstorm

1681279361_04c8f210a3_o

This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

